Visit our social channels!
August 8, 2017
The Strawberry One-Act Festival Now Streaming Online

AUDELCO Award-Winner

The Riant Theatre (Van Dirk Fisher, Artistic Director)


The Series

One-Act Plays Now Available On-Demand On Vimeo

Highlighting the 30th Season Of The One-Act Festival

Viewers Have the Opportunity to Cast Votes
To Determine the Competition’s 12 Finalists

Pre-Order Episodes for $1.99 Each Through Thursday August 10th
Episodes Can Be Viewed for $3.99 Each After Beginning August 11th

The Riant Theatre (Van Dirk Fisher, Artistic Director) -- the Audelco Award-winning nonprofit providing a nurturing developmental environment for playwrights and theatre creators of diverse cultural backgrounds -- proudly announces THE STRAWBERRY ONE-ACT FESTIVAL 2017 – THE SERIES. The reality competition series’ first eight episodes, featuring the 31 short plays that were staged during the festival’s 30th Season (presented Off-Broadway at the Theatre at St. Clement’s July 13th - July 30th, 2017) are now available for viewing online. Episodes can be viewed (and future episodes pre-ordered) for $1.99 now through Thursday, August 10th. Each episode can be viewed for $3.99 starting August 11th. For more information, visit

Episode 1 through Episode 8 of THE STRAWBERRY ONE-ACT FESTIVAL 2017 – THE SERIES, now available for viewing, features the 31 plays that were presented during the 30th Season of The Strawberry One-Act Festival. At the end of each episode the online viewing audience will be given instructions on how to cast votes for their choice for Best Play as well as Best Director, Actor, Actress and Costume Design. Voting will remain open until Monday, August 21st at Noon.

Episode 9: FINALISTS will be available for viewing beginning Monday, August 21st at 6pm and will feature the announcement of the competition’s 12 FINALISTS for Best Play. This episode also features the artists involved in those 12 plays working with the completion’s three COACHES: two-time AUDELCO Award winning actress/director Patricia R. Floyd, AUDELCO Award-winning actress/director Elizabeth Van Dyke, and actress Rebecca Larkin.

The three plays with the most votes chosen by the online audience will also be announced, as well as the nominees for Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress and Best Costume Design. Viewers will be able to watch the chosen Finalists and once again cast their votes. Voting Ends Wednesday, August 23rd at Noon.

Episode 10: JUDGES’ DELIBERATIONS will be available for viewing beginning Thursday, August 24th at Noon and features the competition’s Industry Judges deliberating and discussing each of the Finalists.
The season’s judges include: actor Count Stovall; casting director Ellyn Long-Marshall / Orpheus Group Casting; theater producer Stephen Miller of Miller-Coffman Productions, LLC; Helen Schultz, Literary Associate at Brett Adams LTD, and the recipient of the 2015 Playwrights Horizons fellowship; and Kate Bussert, Literary Associate at Brett Adams LTD.

Episode 11: THE STRAWBERRY ONE-ACT FESTIVAL 2017 AWARDS CEREMONY, the final episode will be available for viewing on Monday, August 28th at 7pm. The episode features the announcement of all the winners at The Strawberry One-Act Festival’s 2017 Awards Ceremony.

The Strawberry One-Act Festival’s 2017 Awards Ceremony will take place on Sunday, August 27th at 7pm at the Riant Theatre (31 West 34th St, 7th Floor, NYC). Tickets for the ceremony are available online at Tickets are $25 in advance, $35 online on the Day of Event, and $40 at the door.

Dubbed “the ’American Idol’ for playwrights” by the New York Daily News, THE STRAWBERRY ONE-ACT FESTIVAL features a playoff-style competition of plays received through submissions from across the country. Reflecting the diversity written into the mission of its presenter, THE STRAWBERRY ONE-ACT FESTIVAL has produced over 1,500 one-act plays since it began in 1995 (in recent years, the festival has often been presented biannually due to demand from artist submissions and audiences alike).

Strawberry Festival actor alumni include Academy Award-nominees Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network) and Chazz Palminteri (Bullets Over Broadway, A Bronx Tale), Golden Globe Award-winner Ving Rhames (“Don King: Only in America,” Bringing Out the Dead, Mission Impossible), Ato Essandoh (Jason Bourne, HBO’s “Vinyl,” “Elementary”), and Chance Kelly (American Sniper, NBC’s “Aquarius”).




Share this post to Social Media

Other Interesting Posts


Or instantly Log In with Facebook